ICC Powerboat level 2 training

harvey38

Visit site
I tried Dover Sea School at Ramsgate, bloody hopeless communication. Yes, yes, we'll do Day Skipper practical with you, we'll be in touch, heard nothing. Phoned them a few months later, same response. Heard nothing since, that in itself speaks volumes!

Alicatt

Visit site
We, wife and I, used Scotsail in Largs, Howard was a very calm and collected instructor with good humour, he put me through the PB level2 and ICC also the VHF SRC now I'm studying the CEVINI regs for that exam to add to the ICC.

We used a Merry Fisher 725 with a Suzuki 150hp outboard, conditions on the first day were force 5 wind from the south west so a good chop in the Firth of Clyde, made docking interesting and the picking up of a mooring buoy was fun.

My wife had a few minutes behind the wheel of a sloop on the canals of Friesland 2 years ago, that was the sum total of her experience before doing the PB2 course, she took to it like a duck to water, her only problem was the language, as English is not her first language, " What do you mean by 'put it in neutral'? " :) but by the end of the course she was doing slaloms at 20+kts and docking like a pro.
Before the course she was asking how are we going to get our boat out of that tight berthing? Now she knows how to spring off, it has really improved he confidence.

ylop

Visit site
I can recommend Mendez on the Hamble. Having said that, the PB courses are aimed at users of RIBs and similar smaller dayboats. If you have a Mainship (as name suggests) then might look at Day Skipper (power).