Heaving To (How does it work ?)

Jon magowan

Visit site
I’m a fairly novice sailor, trying to consolidate what I learnt on the day skipper course.

Something about ‘heaving to’ has always bugged me. Perhaps somebody can clarify ?

I’ve read the books and watched the YouTube channels and they all say pretty much the same thing.

1. Tack from close hauled.
2. Allow the jib to become backed.
3. Release the main sheet.
4. Progressively apply leeward tiller and lash it full over.

The boat will ‘gently’ drift downwind.

Now here’s the thing. In order for the rudder to have any effect, surely the rudder needs to have water flowing over it and therefore the boat needs to be moving forward by at least 1 or 2 kts.

I can’t imagine the backed jib will provide a forward drive, so presumably we need some drive from the mainsail ?

Overall then, we need to have at least some tension on the main sheet and we need to be aware that the boat will not just be drifting straight downwind, but will also be slowly moving forward.

I would welcome your comments. Thanks.

srm

Visit site
Basically, you have nailed it. There must be some tension on the main sheet to prevent the sail from flogging as in severe weather flogging would very quickly destroy the sail.
The best way to understand it is to go out and do it (didn't you get to try it on your course?). However, different hull configurations/rigs will react differently and some boats may not settle down comfortably.
My experience with longish keel boats is that the main drives the boat forward, but only slowly against the force of the backed headsail. The rudder bites and brings bows towards the wind. Main feathers, looses drive and the backed jib stops the boat. The head falls off and the cycle starts again. Its a dynamic situation with the boat slowly falling off the wind then jogging along until pointing up towards the wind and falling off again. The resultant track being somewhere around 135 degrees off the wind.

scozzy