Which First Boat -For River/Canal Cruising

Dannyc

Visit site
Hi all

Newbie here so please go easy on me.

I’m looking to purchase my first boat. I’ve found numerous similarly titled threads on here, but none seem to match my criteria.

I’m thinking something used, 20 - 24 ft, easy to helm, and suitable for a weekend to a few days away. It would need to be 4 berth and would be purely for river and canal cruising, so no coastal blasts. A shower and toilet would be a must. I live on a marina and have my own mooring, so there are no concerns about mooring or trailer weights etc. I’d be on the Fossdyke, Witham, and (once a little more experienced) the Trent. A key point is that the boat would need to fit through the glory hole at Lincoln. Price anywhere between £10-25k

I’ve been trying to swat up on what may or may not fit the bill, but I’m torn by some of the advice I’ve found. Looking to just cruise along the rivers and canals at low speeds, plus being a novice, I’ve seen advice to avoid big engined stern drives like the plague. Which is a shame because I do love the modern look and interiors of many of them (Sealine, Searay, Rinker etc). Then there’re the more traditional styled boats (Shetland, Viking etc style) which again may be just the job, but I would want a young one, or one that had already been modernised/refitted as I’m really not to keen on interiors full of lots of dark wood.

Obviously many of the traditionally styled boats have an outboard, so again further conflict as I was also advised to go for an inboard, shaft, rudder.

I know the propulsion question opens a perpetual can of worms, but I’m very interested in your thoughts specific to my requirements.

Many thanks

harvey38

Visit site