Newbie Seeking Advice

ClaytonDJ

Visit site
Hi - I'm a newbie who has just joined this treasure trove of a forum.

Got into power boating just after COVID. Obtained RYA qualifications - L2 Powerboat and ICC, Intermediate Powerboat, Advanced Powerboat, Day Skipper, VHF, etc.

I own a 6m RIB berthed at Conwy Marina in North Wales. Have just retired from work aged 62 and looking at buying a berth in Southern Spain and a small motor cruiser.
Visiting Spain (Torrevieja) next week to view a Sealine S28 powered by twin KAD 32 DPs. Engine servicing paperwork not comprehensive and advert indicates they have done 2100 hours. Broker states local Volvo outfit confirms working on the engines but looks like the owner has not retained paperwork!

I read on here that Volvo Penta KAD32s are good, reliable engines if regularly serviced and maintained well.

I'm not a mechanic - so if I like the boat will be shelling out for full survey and have the engines/drives inspected by a marine engineer, Ahead of this is their anything blindingly obvious that I should be looking for when I view the boat (it is in the water at the moment)?

In respect of questioning the broker/owner about servicing/maintenance - how far can I reasonably challenge. If routine servicing has not been carried out can I request it be undertaken before I purchase - or use as. negotiating point to reduce selling price?

Sorry for multiple questions but keen to not buy something on its last legs or that will let me down the moment I take ownership.

ClaytonDJ

Visit site
2100hrs seems very high.
Perhaps others would comment on longevity of sterndrives.
This is my area of biggest concern. I need to quiz the broker and the owner selling the boat about the hours. Possible that it has done some long passages along the med coastline - but still nervous about lack of paper trail supporting servicing and maintenance.