First Boat - what size?

Dazzer2

Visit site
Hi I’m new here, and looking to buy my first motor boat, I have zero experience of boating although I have just done my Powerboat Level 2 and really enjoyed it so definitely want to get on the water. I’m looking to get a boat that I can stay on for a few nights and go to places such as the Isle of Wight and as I get more experienced go to the Channel Islands. I will be solo and will have to do all the berthing and anchoring on my own. How do you make it easier when doing this on your own?. I’ve looked at the Bavaria 32 or 33 Hard top or the Sealine 34/35 HT, or something similar as I want to use it all year round and even in the winter stay hence the hard top.

Any advice on boat size for a newbie would be greatly received, thanks in advance.

Dazzer2

Visit site
For going solo , look at swift trawler 34 they have a side door and side door on deck. Bouba who posts on here every day has one.
Thanks it’s more for chilling with the family, this looks more like a fishing boat, need more of a sport boat, and do people manage boats above 11m on their own or is it better to go smaller first time around?

kashurst

Visit site
Welcome. Twenty three years ago I popped up on here and said hello I want to buy a boat. Without this forum I wouldn't have made it to the end of the following year. We are now on boat number seven and have been fortunate to have had 20+ years of fantastic boating with the great and experienced help of all the contributors here. Don't rush into something too quick. The sea looks beautiful, but it is not your friend. If that sounds horribly patronising I apologise, but the knowledge here is amazing.

For all year round use a hard top sports boat works:
But hard tops reflects the engine noise, even big hard top sports boats can get a bit wearing after an hour or so,