Exporting a small boat to Corfu from UK

seanfoster

Visit site
Hi all,
Not posted on this forum for a while but been a member for many years!
Firstly I appreciate this sort of question has been raised many times and while I think I have a grasp on the general situation regarding importing a boat my situation is quite specific and there are many grey areas which I am unsure about.

I have a 1990 7m sports boat which I bought a few years in a doer up state from a broker for £5000, I've since refurbed and always dreamed of keeping her in Corfu, with the intention of towing from the UK via France, Germany, Italy. Venice ferry to Igoumenitsa then corfu.

So, where things get complicated, there isn't any previous paperwork showing vat, marina bills etc, I have the mca bill of sale only.
I am currently a UK only resident but will be getting my eu citizenship back soon via my Irish citizenship application.

As I see it I could temporarily import it on a rolling 18month basis (potentially visiting Albania to reset the clock) while I am a non eu citizen, but as soon as I am an eu citizen I will then have to declare it to customs and pay the vat. As it is a low value, I can live with that.

I'm thinking if I have to do this anyway, should I just declare it on arrival in France off the ferry, as it will then be eu vat paid?
As I would be importing it, import duty would be liable on transport costs as well, so thinking I would only effectively have to pay duty on the ferry crossing, plus value stated on the bill of sale?

And then the question comes to where the boat should be registered, with polish registration being quick and easy, or ssr, or Greek registration?