Work for a skilled joiner whilst cruising the world

Idiot_seeks_village

Visit site
Hello team,

Please be gentle its my first time.

Long story short; I am a carpenter and joiner by trade and am thinking of heading off on a wee adventure next year and am wondering IF I was to pack some of my tools on board what the chances are of me finding odd jobs in and around marinas/ports/coastal towns and villages for someone with my skill set to help fund the liveaboard, cruising lifestyle and hopefully elongate the journeys time frame?

Points to consider:
1) In no way am I looking for full time employment, merely some cash in hand/bank transfer work to help with the odd resupply or diesel top up.
2) I'm confident I can stock a fairly decent supply of tools that would almost give me a mobile workshop type of vibe
3) I have experience of working in high end joinery workshops here in the UK and have even done the odd job on board assorted yachts but I'm not technically a shipwright, BUT I have an eye for detail and am confident I can turn my hand to most tasks with the trusty 'You Tube' apprentice on hand.
4) I appreciate it will very much depend on where I go cruising but I am very open minded as to where I go and am wondering IF I can manage a circumnavigation of some iteration using these skills to help fund the process rather than having to learn some new computer based skill that may or may not earn money as and when I have internet connection.

Finally; what or where would be the best way to advertise my services either ahead of arriving somewhere or on arrival? Genuinely thinking of having a sandwich board or sign on exterior of boat to promote myself.

What say you? Good, bad or ugly idea?

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

lusitano

Visit site
A full time liveaboard friend of mine , cabinet maker to trade, settled in the Carribean and made a very good living
carrying out repairs and maintainance on the luxury Charter Yachts .