small club racing yacht

Birdseye

Visit site
I enjoy my racing on the current boat but it needs 4 crew and is expensive to keep up to scratch. Plus we are much less interested in cruising than used to be the case. So I find myself wondering whether there is a boat which I could single hand in club races ( PY not life or death racing) or crew with two. Racing is winter as well as summer and is only cancelled in winds over 30kn so it must be seaworthy and reefable etc. Maybe 28 to 30 ft loa.

I am thinking of self tacking jib with an assymetric on a prong and all ropes led back to the cockpit. But I guess the key issue is getting a boat that isnt too flighty to allow you to leave the helm, maybe on a pilot, whilst you trim the sails.

Is there such a thing? Is it even feasible?

roblpm

Visit site
Its an interesting idea and keep us updated.

I have one season of racing under my belt so a total newbie but I am surprised by the lack of opportunity / handicapping etc for the idea of short handed racing. My boat is myself and 4 crew fully crewed.

Having thought about it it seems to me that it will be difficult to compete in round the cans style racing with fully crewed boats both due to difficulty and the lack of crew weight on the rail.

A jpk 1010 won the fastnet overall double handed in 2013 i think.

How about a sunfast 3200??

Whats the budget??

roblpm

Visit site
There is also a guy called Andrew Evans who has written a lot on the subject. I bought his book "single-handed sailing" for my kindle. (i think the text is free on some websites). He advocates just racing single handed in normal races, not worry too much about winning! He has lots of techniques for single handing.

Birdseye

Visit site
He advocates just racing single handed in normal races, not worry too much about winning!

Sure! :D:D;)