Shrimper 19 for channel crossing

Pontyfraq

Visit site
I am a beginner sailer with plenty of dingy experience in coastal waters. Am looking to get back into sailing in middle age, and have been out with friends and am planning my coastal skipper etc. I would like (eventually) to buy a boat to sail from east coast to the Netherlands, Friesian isles, single handed. I like the look of the shrimper 19 for this - have sailed one once before and it seemed a seaworthy, friendly boat. Also the retractable keel. I know they’re expensive but they also hold their value. But what about a channel crossing in one? Longer cruising? Mad? Fine? Fun? I know about the shrimper owners clubs dm their write ups, but who here’s done it and who would recommend it (or not)?

B27

Visit site
I'm sure it's entirely possible, but it might be easier in a slightly bigger boat.
I feel the wind is unreliable these days, so if possible I'd be considering a boat with an inboard diesel, which would mean you could get where you want to go in zero wind up to a bit more wind than you might choose in a 19ft boat.
OTOH, I have some friends who've cruised more distant places than I have, because they've trailered their 18ft boat to Greece and Scotland and Spain.

I'd suggest trying to scrounge a few rides in different boats before buying your own.
Also I feel that single handed is not the be all and end all. Another pair of hands, another pair of eyes can be a big help when you're learning from your mistakes.

Sea Change

Visit site
They seem quite expensive. For the same money you could get something bigger and more comfortable, although you'd probably be giving up the ability to tow it behind your car.

Tranona

Visit site