Planning ahead for the big retirement cruise

efanton

Visit site
So the dream is to buy a boat, cruise the shannon, possibly the Irish canals (but likely to skip this due to size and draft limits, and then a big tour of the waterways in Europe for up to a year,
I have a good idea of what type of boat I want to buy, budget of up to €30 with €5k set aside for the inevitable 'fixes'.

My biggest issue so far is determining what size engine(s) I would need. Obviously the dream involves crossing the Irish sea and the English channel.
I have some experience of boating, but never crossed the sea.

What size engine would you recommend as a minimum?

The alternative plan would be a 30 to 35 sailboat, where the mast could be fairly easily dropped for river cruising, My concern here would be the minimum draft although the savings in fuel could be considerable.
From what I read there is a draft limit of 1.5 m between Killaloe and Limerick which has more or less killed the initial sailboat plan.

What would you recommend?

Greg2

Visit site
There is a lot more to taking a boat to sea than just engine size.

It is a combination of engine size and hull type that determines speed but as a starter for ten it needs to at least be sufficient to punch a tide for sea passages. Crossing the Irish Sea you might want to make more than a six knot displacement speed so then it is looking at semi-displacement or planing hulls with suitably sized engines. As an illustration we had a Sealine S34, which has a planing hull, and that had twin 175hp engines and would cruise around 20 knots.

More importantly the boat should be designed and fitted out to go to sea and the EU Recreational Craft Directive categories are a helpful starting point in this regard.

Refueler

Visit site
I read your opener with interest .. I would love to do similar.