Hybrid Saildrive?

TiggerToo

Visit site
Has anyone here have direct experience, or even second-hand experience, of hybrid sail drives?

I remember Nigel Calder tried something out on his boat a couple of decades ago, but things have probably moved on since then.

dunedin

Visit site
Not sure what you means by “hybrid saildrive” (as “saildrives” have generally been simply a routing of the drive from the engine)?

But clearly a lot of thought, prototyping and now some production versions of electric and hybrid propulsion are starting to come onto the market. Also was a good report of an ePropulsion electric drive fitted to a Sadler in a recent Yachting Monthly (albeit done by the owner of a business selling electric drives). And suspect if you went to Southampton some of the exhibitors would be delighted to talk to you about electronic propulsion on a nice new yacht - but need a deep wallet.

I am not an expert, but an interested watcher, and my summary would be:
- electric propulsion is definitely the direction of travel for boats - but currently most proven and effective for inland waterways craft, tenders etc
- production electric drive options starting to be offered for RIBS, offshore multihulls, exotic day sailing boats and now some premium sailing yachts - eg Arcona and Salona, but at a very substantial price premium and short range
- the physics of energy density of diesel vs battery still mean that it is very challenging to get an electric power range for a yacht beyond 20-30 miles or so, and hugely more challenging at 7 knots into a breeze/tide than at 4 knots in flat calm as most are quoted at.

Like cars, hybrid drive options can give much longer range but with extra complexity, whether
(a) parallel hybrid with both diesel and electric motors; or
(b) serial hybrid with diesel (or fuel cell) generator powering an electric only drive.
This latter seems an attractive option for long distance cruisers, who may have both Diesel engine and generator today.