West Coast Scotland

Visit site
Hi all,

We’re looking at moving to west Scotland.

Yesterday, specifically looking at Arran, yes I know fairly well south, possibly Oban (Lismore) as an alternative.

Part of this move includes finding a mooring for a Hanse 350.

Can anyone offer any insight?

My research so far shows there are more moorings than listed in Reeds or other Mariña guides.

Not looking for definitive information, merely informed guidance.

TIA

Andy

Reactions: Obi

Ian_Edwards

Visit site
At the Northern tip of Lismore, there's a mooring association, with several mooring in a well sheltered inlet.
I've been sailing around that area for many years, and in resent years there have been very few boats on the moorings.
Might be worth looking it up with the Crown Estate's mooring department.

Minerva

Visit site
I’m fairly certain the mooring association operating the patch of moorings on the seaward side of the falls of Lora were advertising moorings to purchase this spring. I probably saw it on one of the Scottish facebook groups.

ash2020

Visit site
Andy, the sailing up there is wonderful, as you probably guessed. I've just moved away, but there are sometimes moorings for sale in Dunstaffnage Bay, next to Dunstaffnage Marina at Oban. Contact dbmoamoorings@gmail.com for more info. I recently sold mine for £5K, which is the general going rate. There's also a fee of approx £350 p.a. for parking, dinghy store, toilets etc. You can rent moorings at Creran Marine, I think they are around £1K for the season. Winter storage is a bit of an issue, with most places having a waiting list, again, you could try Ewen at Creran Marine. Message me if you need any more info.

steveeasy

Visit site
Ardoran marine. I’ve just put mine on one there. There is another place north of Oban. Can’t recall the name but I’ll find it for you if needed.
Steveeasy

steveeasy

Visit site
No room on the mooring for my Hoose. Just my boat I’m afraid. Thought you were looking for moorings,