UK to AUS what boat?

Javelin

www.Southwoldboatyard.co.uk
Had some nice folk here today wanting to look at a newish Southerly 40' with a view to sail it from the UK to AUS.
I simply told them it was possible BUT there are much better boats for the journey whilst the Southerly would be great once you got there.
There's a hell of a difference between a trade wind 25 day hop across the Atlantic and turning left at the Cape.
Anyway I'm a sailor and boat builder first, not a broker so I'm happy to advise folk away from making expensive wrong decisions.

So given a budget of 80 to 100k
Allowing a further 20 to 30k to prep the boat for the trip with the necessary gear and equipment
Require at least 6'4" headroom (which the Southerly also didn't have, in common with the Ovni so that's ruled out as well)
Maximum loa of 43'
A sailor first rather than a wheel house.
Comfortable for three adults.
Centre cockpit or at the very least a decent lump of boat aft of the steering position and capable of fitting wind steering gear.

My first thought was an Oyster 435, as we have one here at the yard that I could show them round and a boat I know well having sailed and delivered 435's 1000's of miles in the past.

Any others you can think of that might fit the bill?

Tranona

Visit site
Just a curve ball but there is a regular run of Bavarias and Hanses that do that trip with their Australian owners who start in the Med, have a couple of years cruising there and then off home in the boat.

Seriously you can get too hung up about boat choice - it is more about equipping it right and the crew's capability.

Why do you think the Southerly won't do the job? Highest AVS of any modern production boat and many have been used for just this sort of adventure. Centre cockpit wheel steered boats do not lend themselves easily to vane steering although a Hydrovane will work well.

capnsensible

Visit site