Total newbie - Go easy on me!

vodzurk

www.youtube.com
Hi All,

First post, and seeking info which I imagine is painful for all you guys/gals to hear being requested, so apologies up front!

So, background on me+she... both in our 30s, and pretty mad about boats. However, we've had limited experience... so far:

• Half a day on Lake Geneva (~30mph, practically a toy, but got us hooked)
  • 2 day Powerboat Lvl2 course, now ICC'd. (~50knots rib)... mostly in Bristol Harbour, but including half a day Bristol Channel.
  • Day zipping around Malta coastline. (115hp... was interesting learning how to deal with swell).
Upcoming in 2 weeks we're gonna do a 3 day (rib or similar) rental in Dubrovnik (our honeymoon), then hope to get down to Salcombe or near Wighty to rent a rib for a day or two along the Jurassic Coast before winter sets in.

So not a lot of experience at the moment. However, we're utterly loving every single minute of it, and thinking about getting our own boatyness. I think our garage has 6-6.5m at its peak, so that'd have to include a trailer. Without garaging it, the mooring/storage fees would eat into saving for the longer term dream of something bigger.

We're also very close to Bristol Harbour (Bedminster for anyone interested).

Our plan is to possibly, over winter, buy a 5m vessel (something like a Fletcher17 or Bow Rider). Then spend winter getting to know her in the harbour/inland (docking, using a slip, head up river to Bath, etc). Then hopefully in a year or two make it across to Cardiff?!??

The end goal is to save up for something much larger, retire early, and spend a lot of time aboard... but that's a decade away, and a lot of dreaming.

On to my newbie questions:

• Does any of the above stick out as odd? Wrong plan? Not the way to do it?
  • Is a 5-5.5m boat too small to get across the Bristol Channel without tons more experience?
  • >>> How would you suggest getting that experience?