The V8 Engine Saga continues

Fire99

Visit site
Hi people,

I need your help (again). You'll have to bare with me as i'm still pretty new to these old Volvo Penta V8 petrol engines.

Anyway, today i replaced the coil and the mechanical fuel pump with a second hand one from 'coastal'. Anyway i changed the coil first and she started ok and ran ok but i wasnt convinced by the pickup and coastal had mentioned the symptoms could be the fuel pump giving up.

Anyway i changed the pump and she started on the button and ran for about 30 seconds then stalled and would not fire.
On investigation it seems fuel is now no longer being pumped into the carb.

Obviously the mechanical fuel pumps are about as complicated as a lump of iron and i find it amazing that the pump has failed.

Anyway before i go getting the 'ump and putting the original back on is there anything else i should check in the fuel system?

I stripped and reassembled the fuel filter/water trap when changing the pump... do such things as air locks occur on such a simple setup? Plus would that occur if it happily pumped enough fuel in to run for a 30 secs before it gave up?

I know the filter/water trap has a bleed screw in the top but that had no effect..

Anyway a bit of urgent tech help would be appreciated as i'd like to get to the bottom of this one tomorrow?

Also a second question. Since the engine is effectively a Chevy 305 Small Block V8, is there any issue with buying an aftermarket fuel pump from the automotive field? Since A second hand VP one was dearer than a new chrome high flow one from an American V8 company...

Anyway thanks guys for all your help on this..

Nik

sonarbell

Visit site