Returning to lumpy water

oldmonsty

Visit site
I am contemplating buying a lumpy water boat after 30 years away, probably a centre cockpit plodder of some kind. I have posted on several forums for advice and it seems that my choices were pretty sound - Sea Dog, Neptunian, Colvic Atlanta. However having read the forums over the past 6 months or so it seems that the actual act of sailing is nearly impossible to get the hang of. I have some knowledge but I find it impossible to understand the simplest comment on here, is it really that hard or is it that like all activities those in the know seek to keep their knowledge exclusive. I dearly want to get afloat but I will not be patronised by anyone, any thoughts on a way forward?

D

Deleted member 36384

Sailing is not complicated at all. Sure there are plenty of new words and phrases but it is very simple to do.

To get a grip of the terms and methods I would recommend that you read RYA Competent Crew and RYA Day Skipper Practical Course Notes, both available from bookshops, chandlers and the RYA on line shop click here. There are plenty of other books but the above are aimed at the beginner and novice alike.

If you want to teach yourself then at least read the books. Sailing Tuition is available from some yacht clubs, sailing schools (see the RYA web) and of course fellow sailors.

Good luck, its not that hard.

dt4134

Visit site
Find someone who looks competent and get to know them & if they have the right attitude see if they want crew. Try a few skippers as there's rarely an absolute right way of doing anything.

Visit site