Polish Flag Registration

Wansworth

Visit site
Do any of you have any experience with registering your pride and joy under the Polish flag? The good, the bad and the ugly, please
Interested in replies also,would consider doing it through an agency here in Vigo,especially for Spanish flagged boats it get you out of inspections and equipment controls and distance you can sail

sailaboutvic

Visit site
I have no experience with Polish registry but many are now going that way .Some brits have got it in their heads it's not illegal or in time it won't be valid no idea why its an EU flag .
One thing you may need to check on is what your insurance have to say.

For those or remember Croatia before joining the EU was offering boat there a lower level of vat (5%) I think the rate was if they paid it before they joined
Many include the RYA and other sailing organisation was tell people not to pay it as it won't be illegal,
how wrong all where.

Wansworth

Visit site
Here a few years back many Spanish sailed under the Belgium flag to escape the controls under the Spanish flag.But the regulation changed and you had to live in Belgium so people now jumped to the Polish flag,how long it will beuseabletoavoid Spanish regulations is not known

Graham376

Boat on Mooring off Faro, Home near Abergele
Visit site
An expat British friend has been looking at where to re-register the Spanish registered boat he bought earlier this year. Going through an agent, Polish doesn't appear much cheaper than going for Part 1 even though tonnage measurement needed. Part 1 also makes life easier for insurance.

Polish registered boats are more likely to attract scrutiny in EU waters than UK ensign, as it's well known to be the go-to flag for those avoiding tax in countries where boats are taxable asset or, when hiding ill-gotten gains.

Poignard

Visit site
You can register under the Irish flag.

A friend of mine did it using a firm in Ireland.