Identifying my dinghy

moonxx

Visit site
Hi all I am new to sailing been out in red letter day sailing loved it but busy life has never let me keep going. I watch YouTube videos everyday couples sailing away all over the world. Now 64 but still fit have bought an old dinghy off a farmer were it has been abandoned for years. He doesn't have any details on it or what it is. It's definitely not a sloop fibreglass hull wooden deck with epoxy tape stitching. Round wooden mast with what looks like two positions for the mast squared bottom that fits into 18mm squared plywood bases approx a foot apart one boom I think and another piece approx same length but with two plywood triangles at one end. Can anyone help. Could it be a gaff cutter it 3m long and approx 4ft something wide. I have various sails in bags 1 definitely a job as it says it on the bag. A 2 stroke outboard and set of canoe orrs most of deck fittings are in a plastic box. Apart from that the hull is good and no rot on the deck. Any comments appreciated.

dunedin

Visit site
Yep, a Mirror dinghy. Ae you sure the hull is fibreglass, as most older Mirrors are wooden hulls - and the later GRP ones had GRP decks as well.
Nice little boats, but be careful with trailer as hull is a little fragile and some trailers with rollers can punch through the hull. A custom cradle supporting the full width is best.

Puffin10032

Visit site
As others have correctly identified it's a wooden Mirror. Despite what you claim, it is sloop rigged. The mainsail is generally referred to as being of Gunter design although some may argue that it's a Gaff mainsail. It was a very popular choice for small dinghies back in the day as it meant that all the spars could be stowed inside the boat. If you think sailing a dinghy is anything like sailing a yacht then you've got a very rude awakening coming.

Chiara’s slave

Visit site