Chartplotters on display. Where ?

Mike_S

Visit site
I'm after a chartplotter but would prefer to have a play with a few before committing the hard earned to one. Trouble is, the local emporiums in cardiff don't have any on display at all, so it looks like I'll have to travel to do so. I'm happy to drive for a couple of hours (I can get to Southampton in that time) so if anyone can recommend a chandlers with a good sized display of various makes I'd appreciate it.

Cheers

Mike.

longjohnsilver

Visit site
A bit closer would be MES in Bristol, only a mile or so off the Mway and good prices. They used to have a good selection on display, give them a ring.

Mike_S

Visit site
May have to pay them a visit tomorrow if the weather's crap, the website certainly lists some of the kit I'm looking into.

Good excuse to go into Costco at the same time.

Mike_S

Visit site
Bear in mind I'm new to all this boating stuff, so I'm impressed by all the flashy lights and buttons /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

It's not so much the 'which ones' as the 'what fits' situation. I've got a Regal 2150 and the dash is all very ergonomically designed /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif . In other words, it's curvy and has next to bugger all room for a chartplotter without putting it in front of the instrumentation so I want to go and have a look at all the makes and see what will fit in and do the job. If I'm buying a chartplotter it might as well be one that can be a fishfinder as well, for that odd occasion where we may dump a bit of string over the back. Needs to link to my Raymarine DSC VHF (which most should do I'm told).

Given the space, it's unlikely that anything bigger than a 6" screen will fit. It'll also have to be wide rather than tall, iyswim. I've set a budget of £5-800 and I'm looking to buy either here or the US, depending on where I can get the best deal (have friends going to the US in a couple of weeks).

Mike_S

Visit site