Alternator Terminals - help please

B

bob_tyler

I am fitting a switch to supply my two battery banks.

I need to find the "Field" terminal on the alternator. The only one I can find that looks right is marked "IND".

Is that the field terminal please?

Stemar

Visit site
I'm no expert, so not sure about terminology, but I assume it's the feed to the field coils, which will be at about 0v when the alternator is not charging and +12 when it is. If so, turn the "ignition" switch on and make sure the charge warning light comes on. Now turn it off and diconnect the lead you think - it'll be a relatively thin one, not the thick output lead. Turn the ignition back on and see if the alternator warning light stays off. If so, you've got the right lead.

You can download The 12v Doctor's Alternator Book from here, but it's about 6 1/2 MB, so may take a while

bdsweeting

Visit site
Hard to say without knowing which make the alternator is.

I would assume at the moment that there is a large diamtere wire coming from the machine and going to the batteries. There should also be a smaller diameter wire which probably comes from the charge light on the dash. That wire is the field terminal normally.

You could also try http://www.motoren.ath.cx/ where you can download an alternator handbook.

Good luck.

William_H

Visit site