15.6 Volts at the battery!!!

tjc

Visit site
The previous post re alternator charging light staying on has just happened to me. I decided to take the alternator in the future back to Lucas but to keep an eye on it in the meantime. They reconditioned it 3 months ago.

On the boat today and the volt meter shows 15.6 volts at 3/4 revs and the adverc light is flashing green. I disconnect the adverc and still the same fault. Presumably it is a faulty rectifier/regulator.

i woul appreciate a bit of tech info before I go in to Lucas in the morning. No doubt they won't ahve a spare Paris Rhone alternator and this weekends sailing is going to be spent in the garden

<hr width=100% size=1>

Birdseye

Visit site
15.6 v for any length of time will boil the battery. are you sure your voltmeter is correct? if so, the regulation is faulty, but on both the adverc and the alternator?

I'm no expert, but I thought that the adverc was, in effect, another regulator that was simply more sophisticated that the one built in to the alternator. if so, why does removing it not affect the voltage? are you sure you put the system back to the state it was in pre adverc?

any alternator is capable of producing that voltage and more - its the regulator that limits it.

<hr width=100% size=1>

colvic

Visit site
The Adverc will allow a charging voltage of about 15.6v for upto 15mins. depending on the level of charge in the battery. If the green light is flashing then there is a problem somewhere. You need to disconnect the wire, Green?, which adverc fasten into the regulator pack on the alternator. Disconnecting this wire will revert the alternator to normal regulator control. The flashing green light should go out and the voltage should drop.

Did Lucas send the unit back with the Adverc modified regulator?

Phil

<hr width=100% size=1>

snowleopard

Visit site