Liverpool

savageseadog

Visit site
Unless you can do more than 10 knots you will need to go up river with the tide. Start the Queen's channel 2-3 hours before high tide. There is a very strong current across the marina entrance so make sure you stay up tide as you approach. Have some decent warps and fenders on because the lock can be very turbulent.
It's possible to anchor outside the lock (but not in the way) in reasonable weather to wait for the lock HW plus minus 2 hours

Last edited:

Skylark

Visit site
I've entered the river less than half a dozen times so I have no "local knowledge" and stick to the chart and pilot books. I've entered at night and during the day. The channel is exceeding well buoyed and fairly straight forward to transit. In a sailing boat, you can only go with the tide.

There are some classic views to enjoy. Keep in mind that it's an active commercial port so keep vhf monitoring, keep a good lookout and keep out of their way!

It's a good 2 hours (can't recall exactly) from the bar buoy to the marina. Plan arrival accordingly.

I concur that outside HW slack, the water runs like the proverbial outside the marina lock gates.

I hope all goes well, safe passage.

Searush

back2bikes.org.uk
If it's NW'ly when you leave, be prepared for an interesting ride, the river is exposed to the NW & the strong ebb kicks up short, steep seas against a gale. I doubt the currents run as high as 10kts, I'd expect 5-6 max, but I've been away 20 years, maybe the river has picked up speed? :D

savageseadog

Visit site
.......... I doubt the currents run as high as 10kts, I'd expect 5-6 max, but I've been away 20 years, maybe the river has picked up speed? :D

The tide doesn't run at ten knots but the trip in could take ages against the tide. Off the top of my head it's about 15 miles from the bar light to the marina so unless your're making more than three or four knots over the ground it will take forever.

D

DogWatch