Leave boat anchored offshore

Adetheheat

Visit site
Stupid question time!
Is it stupid or illegal to leave the boat anchored off a beach whilst I jump in a kayak and paddle to the shore for lunch? Thus leaving the boat unoccupied.
Thanks
Adrian

Gixer

Visit site
I know when I read a charter agreement in detail it said 'someone who is capable of handling the boat must be onboard when at anchor'. I would guess this is standard insurance requirement in some areas. I'm no expert....

Daydream believer

Visit site
Stupid question time!
Is it stupid or illegal to leave the boat anchored off a beach whilst I jump in a kayak and paddle to the shore for lunch? Thus leaving the boat unoccupied.
Thanks
Adrian
"Ilegal" suggests breaking the law of the land or a perhaps a local byelaw. That depends where one is at the time & what laws are in force

Breaching the terms of an insurance policy, is somewhat different. For that one should read the insurance documents. It may preclude certain sections of cover if left unattended. Different rules may apply.

"Stupid" depends on conditions, such as impending weather, how the craft is moored, Temporary or more permanent anchorage. Surrounding features. How long the craft is to be un attended & if arrangements have been made to advise one of any issues or attend the vessel in the skipper's absence. Others will add to that list I am sure. It is all down to a sensible risk assessment based on the experience of the skipper.

Last edited:

Daydream believer

Visit site
Cruising would be pretty boring if you couldn't leave the boat at anchor for the day whilst you went ashore!
You go into a marina & tie it to a pontoon berth. Far more civilised. Step ashore with ease. Crew can come & go when they want. No poncing with dinghies. Most have all the facilities. Safe & comfortable. What is not to like? :D

Stingo

Visit site