ICC & CEVNI

CliveG

Visit site
I am planning to go to Holland in the summer.
I have mislaid my ICC and need to get a CEVNI.
Where / who would be the best people to contact to get these sorted?
Happy to do the ICC test on my own boat.

PeterWright

Visit site
All good advice above. If you want a CEVNI, East Anglia Sea School, amongst others can provide. When I did it with them, I studied the booklet of rules at home and turned up to be tested on it, which took about half an hour.

That was about 10 years ago, so things may have changed.

Peter.

Fr J Hackett

Visit site
If you want a CENVI which I think is necessary for the inland waterways of Holland which is what prompted me to get one then the online exam is the way to go. A series of multiple choice type questions, minimum number of correct answers required, easy to pass after a little reading and several hours with some flip cards. There are or used to be online tests to prepare for the exam.
ICC depends on where and how you got the ICC as has been said if RYA issued then they will provide a replacement at cost.

Geoff A

Visit site
CENVI needed. Yes as far as I know for inland water ways. As for ICC I have my doubts, The RYA is the only organisation that issue's an ICC and the only place that will renew one . In the UK an ICC is not like a driving licence where it is illegal to drive a vehicle without one. I have never been asked by any official officer of any country I have visited to produce an ICC. IMHO If you can arrive safely to any foreign country from anywhere in the UK you must cave a degree of competence. I do not know if it is a legal requirement in other countries to have an ICC if visiting. Even if you have an out of date ICC in your own name, to my mind it can be argued that you are a competent person. I can see why a charter company would want to see a bit of paper showing that you know how to handle power of sailing boat. This is my opinion and will be happy to be proved wrong.

johnalison