Epoxy for sealing timber

seanfoster

Visit site
Further to a previous thread, I want to seal some ply to prevent moisture.

The replies I had mentioned coating in epoxy and then varnishing afterwards.

Could someone expand on this?
What epoxy should I use (I've never used it before so could do with some tips), how do you apply, I assume a polyurethane varnish over it?

Any help would be appreciated!

prv

Visit site
I believe you can get special extra-runny soaky-in epoxy for the purpose, but you'd probably be fine with normal general-purpose resin. They make the basic stuff thinnish, then if you want glue or filler or fairing mix you add various proportions of powders yourself - so with none of that added it would be fine for coating I'd have thought. Certainly I brushed a coat onto a plywood stowage box I wanted to keep in the bilge and it worked fine - came out like a very matt varnish. If I cared about its appearance I expect some actual varnish would then render it shiny.

I habitually buy West epoxy, but I doubt there's much to choose between the big names.

Pete

electrosys

Boston - gateway to the North Sea (and bugger all
Visit site
West Epoxy is completely unsuitable for sealing plywood, as it's too darned thick (viscous). Indeed, I cannot understand the ongoing enthusiasm for this brand - good marketing I guess.

Some people will say that it can be thinned with acetone or cellulose (lacquer) thinners and, whilst that might be true, when the solvent evaporates, it will leave behind micropores which will then allow moisture to penetrate, which kinda defeats the whole purpose of sealing.

Better by far to start off by using a thin epoxy, such as Epiglass, or my favourite, General Purpose Lay-Up Resin from ABL Stevens (www.resin-supplies.co.uk). As a bonus, the GP Resin has a much more user-friendly 2:1 mix ratio, than that of West 'Systems'.

I will not even allow West products to enter my yard, precisely because of it's unsuitability for boat-building.