Buying spanish reg boat uk resident help

Flier2

Visit site
Hi people , i have read hundreds of articles posts etc - can anyone please give a difinitive answer
To this post as i am flying out shortly and about to arrange survey etc

i am a uk resident buying a spanish registered
Used Boat and keeping the boat in spain but living in the uk for 10 months -

Do i need to pay any taxes at purchase and through the year?
I have the icc powerboat cert. Is that ok to use in this spanish registered boat?

I really would appreciate your help - cheers john

Sea Devil

www.michaelbriant.com
I really don't know...,.. Buying a Spanish boat means all the VAT tax things are paid and unlike France there is no annual tax on the boat. The issued that remains is if you need a Spanish 'captain' certificate - and I really hope not.... Try contacting Alex - on the bottom of this page http://www.michaelbriant.com/spain_boat_rules.htm

best wishes

Michael

Flier2

Visit site
Hi michael, appreciate your post , ive tried the chap you mentioned with no success - Im sure there must
Be many members who have first or second hand experience, hopefully they will be along shortly, cheers john

Tranona

Visit site
No problem. Just ensure the seller deregisters it from the Spanish register and then register on the SSR. Do not leave it on the Spanish register. No restrictions on how you use it, nor are there any specific taxes unless you become resident in Spain. You are not obliged to have an ICC, but is sensible.

Flier2

Visit site
Ta tragona, rereging seems fairly easy but i dont know why i would prefer to keep spanish reg. If at all possible?

colind3782

Visit site
No problem. Just ensure the seller deregisters it from the Spanish register and then register on the SSR. Do not leave it on the Spanish register. No restrictions on how you use it, nor are there any specific taxes unless you become resident in Spain. You are not obliged to have an ICC, but is sensible.

+1