Anchoring Restricted Confusion on Navionics

DanAB

Visit site
Hi all,

Looking for some clarification on some Navionics charts please, specifically in the Balearics, Spain. I’m new to chart reading.

- Firstly, what is meant by “Anchoring Restricted” within the restricted area highlighted in green ? (See in attached photos) I assume I am able to anchor in these areas as all other boaters do, however I’m just wonder what is actually meant by “Anchoring Restricted”. Is it to avoid sea grass within the area? I have see anchoring prohibited areas which is quite obvious as to what this means.

- Secondly, I have a doubt about anchoring in nature reserves. If it doesn’t state on the charts that anchoring is prohibited however I am inside a nature reserve, does this mean I am able to anchor anywhere in the area without issue? (Photo attached). Again people do seem to anchor within these areas but looking for clarification.

- Thirdly, If the area I am looking to anchor in isn’t protected by anything on the charts (outside of a restricted area, nature reserve, anywhere along the coast), can I anchor where I please? (Photo attached).

Thanks for the Help!

Dan

Attachments

• IMG_1467.jpeg
    IMG_1467.jpeg
    1,008.6 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_1465.jpeg
    IMG_1465.jpeg
    139.7 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_1463.jpeg
    IMG_1463.jpeg
    471.5 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_1462.jpeg
    IMG_1462.jpeg
    540.1 KB · Views: 17

KompetentKrew

Visit site
For anyone else looking this up, this is the western end of Mallorca (Majorca), west of Palma. Last pic is just north of Magaluf.

This area is covered by Imray Explore, the 2023 edition of the Balearic Islands book and also the Mediterranean Almanac.