I want to sail the world - where do I start?

crazyguy40

Visit site
I have just turned 40 and have always dreamed of sailing the world, although I have no sailing experience and have very little money. Recently, I received £30,000 in legal compensation and would like to use this money to start a sailing adventure! I am currently out of work, so the time really is now. As rent is eating the little savings I have, I have given notice on my house for the end of the month and have a camper van which I will take to the road in. I will live in the camper by the side of the road, until I figure out how to begin my sailing adventure. So with this in mind what is the best way of using £30,000 to make my dream a reality? Here are some of the things I am grappling with:

1) Should I use a good chunk of this money to sign up to formal sailing courses and take exams etc? The problem is that will leave me with very little money to then buy a boat. Also I am not sure if it is really necessary, as I have read some blogs of others who have sailed on much smaller budgets than mine, and with no formal training at all. One idea others have suggested is crewing for others to gain experience, but to be fair I am quite anti social (actually I am on the Autistic spectrum) and like my own company too much! That's one of the big attractions for me with sailing , is being totally on my own. I actually enjoy my own company.

2) How much should I spend on the boat? I was thinking about £20,000 and keeping £10,000 back to support me when sailing (food, maintenance etc.) I am under no illusions that my savings won't go very far and at some point I will run out of money. When this happens I will quit the trip and get a regular job again. I am quite prepared for that and just want to make my dream a reality and see how far my money will take me.