Heat exchanger and Oil cooler advice

jon and michie

Visit site
Hi - my boat was first used in 2007 (2005 model) it has a single Kad 300 A engine with approx 310 hrs use.
will my oil cooler and heat exchanger require a clean up ? and what is the best way to do these 2 tasks.
The boat is currently out of the water.

many thanks for any help

Jon

longjohnsilver

Visit site
I'd give Rydlyme a go. I've been using it for many years, has worked well for me. If you can keep it circulating it's even more effective.

Plum

Visit site
Hi - my boat was first used in 2007 (2005 model) it has a single Kad 300 A engine with approx 310 hrs use.
will my oil cooler and heat exchanger require a clean up ? and what is the best way to do these 2 tasks.
The boat is currently out of the water.

many thanks for any help

Jon
What makes you think they need attention?

oldgit

Visit site
If access is good you just pop off one of the oil cooler (first inline after water pump) water hoses and look inside at end of brass tube stack It will be obvious if the stack is coated with any deposits.
A simply reverse flush on my engine,with a hosepipe did dislodge several bits of vegetable matter and the odd old impellor fragment .
You can just fill the system and leave to marinate with the various dissolving agents but without a doubt the best solution is to set up some sort of recirculation pump.
One chap acheived amazing results by pumping the solution for two hours in one direction and then two more hours in the other.

Last edited:

Bandit

Visit site
The KAD 300 is an excellent engine but it needs looking after to keep it that way.

There are two serious issues to look for blocking of the cooler stack especially in a single engine boat, the more serious is the condition of the cooler housing.

Cooler stack and oil cooler and seawater/ freshwater cooler stacks remove inspect carefully and soak in Rydlyme not brick cleaner. Those windowsill planters you buy at garden centres are good for this.