Advice and help with clinker

Benjg28

Visit site
Hi I'm new to the yacht world and after doing a Google search found myself reading about clinker boats and how wooden boats should be looked after.

I guess here is my situation, I have always lived the idea of having a boat and then I saw this gorgeous, beautiful boat and I had to get it!

The engine is seized up however my worry was but I think it's meat to do this, when the tide comes in the boat starts to take on water nd the bilge pump kicks in.

Is it right that clinker (mahogony) take water on for a while then swell up and seal any gaps?

The reason I'm asking is because in may I have to move her onto a floating pontoon mooring and off th current wall one she's on,
Reading from this forum has filled my heart back up with determination and any help would be much appreciated!

johnlilley

www.seasurveys.co.uk