Windermere sunshine causes madness

spv737

Visit site
Took the boat out for a nice bit of cruising on the lake in the sunshine heading North on a steady course in the middle of the lake when a 25ft fishing boat (open stern and outriggers) appeared from around a headland on my port fwd quarter (making me the stand on) I observed his course and thought I would keep my eye on it as it would involve a collision in my estimate, after a while i saw the other boat turn slightly to stbd so thought he was going to manouvre behind me but no he continued on his course which resulted in him crossing my bow and the 2 boats got as close as 6ft as he passed. I am not that experienced in boating but was sure I was in the right and held my course (with a view to take action if required) I suppose I should have maybe sounded my horn,jesticulated with 2 fingers, shouted or reported him (or all of them) but I was having a nice day and determined not to get lake rage and get wound up.
On returning to my mooring we were negotiating the narrow channel past Fell Foot onto the river when a hired rowing boat decided to cut across my bow as well, the woman rowing with 4 kids in the boat wasn't looking and it took a number of horn button pressings to make her take note, yes lake bylaws say give way to rowers but in the narrow marked channel you cant manouvre, amusing to watch her frantically trying to get out of the way though :)

oGaryo

Visit site
yep, even if he were at sea I'd say running a few fishing lines out the back off the outriggers doesn't restrict their ability to manouver

Lakesailor

Visit site
I also went for a chug-chug yesterday and had all the same fun up around the Bowness area.
The put-puts (and the newer and faster electric launches) just flail about changing direction like those clockwork mice you used to buy.