Voltage drop

bromleybysea

Visit site
Can someone please explain how I can check for voltage drop under load in a circuit. The power supply to my fridge shows battery voltage less about 5% but even when the batteries are fully charged the fridge won't start. If I run a lead from another source closer to the switch panel it will run. I have a digital multimeter but I'm no expert!

Birdseye

Visit site
Do you even need to measure it? What you have already done is to show that the current wiring is inadequate so you need to rewire the feed to the fridge. Even if you could measure voltage drop ( one meter terminal at the battery +ve the other at the fridge posiitive feed ) it wont tell you much without the fridge working.

Dont overcomplicate. Just rewire.

KompetentKrew

Visit site
I don't disagree with what @Birdseye says, but probably a good way to get you started with your multimeter would be to put the black probe on the battery negative and the red on the positive. What does it say? Is your battery fully charged? Do you have shore power?

William_H

Visit site
Difficulty for OP is that if the fridge won't start using standard wiring then it will be difficult to check where voltage drop is. Start by bypassing or adding to earth negative return from battery negative to fridge negative. If you can get a start then check drop on positive line. Put positive probe on battery positive terminal. Then measure voltage drop at various points along the positive line till you get to fridge. So voltage drop could be at battery terminal, isolation switch, wiring to switch board , switch or circuit breaker /fuse or wire itself.
Try bypassing wiring pos terminal to positive of fridge. When fridge is running check in the same way the volt drop of the negative wire. ie to switch board then to fridge.
Volt drop may be caused by wire too light but also can be caused by faulty switching and fusing. Or could be a cumulative effect from all the above. ol'will

andsarkit

Visit site