Very slow leak

scurr

Visit site
Hi Folks,

I get some sitting water around my depth sounder. I suspect this is where the very limited amount water gets into my bilge from. It’s a Sun Odyssey 37, so has a very small sump and in a week doesn’t set off the pump. My guess is I’m getting less than a litre a week.

The boat is new to me, and I am new to boat ownership, I did see some water there when I looked but the survey flagged nothing. I’m assuming it isn’t normal, and isn’t condensation as the log next to it (although the blank is in) has nothing.

So my first step will be getting a bung just in case. But as I’ve never really looked at these on anyone’s boat I don’t know what is normal… I’m guessing this isn’t. How would you recommend fixing?

Minerva

Visit site
good practice is to keep some appropriately sized wooden bungs near any & all skin fittings anyway.

I'd be adding it to the list of things to attend to this winter though - remove, reseal and refit/replace

Fr J Hackett

Visit site
If you are sure that it's the depth sounder transducer then the only answer to cure the problem is to remove it and rebed it. Unfortunately depending on how and what was used to bed it in the first place you might end up damaging it.
Leave it till the end of the season when the boat is out of the water and you have time to do the job properly and get a replacement transducer if needs be.

jaminb

Visit site
When I took ownership of my SO37 I had numerous leaks and puddles! Mainly internal plumbing but the one you described was caused by worn O rings on the log and the plug. On mine the transducer is glassed in so can't leak.

Refueler

Visit site
Hi Folks,

I get some sitting water around my depth sounder. I suspect this is where the very limited amount water gets into my bilge from. It’s a Sun Odyssey 37, so has a very small sump and in a week doesn’t set off the pump. My guess is I’m getting less than a litre a week.