Unfortunate Road traffic incident

Steve803

Visit site
I've always wanted to sail. It's been a long time bucket list tick. I found the boat I would like and brought it, and took it on the one hour journey home. As I was reversing the boat onto my driveway, a driver who certainly wasn't paying enough attention to notice there was a 21ft boat reversing onto a driveway a quarter mile ahead, made no attempt to stop and drive straight into the trailer and shunted the boat onto the edges of the trailer, causing some paint damage here and there, but most importantly, split the starboard side keel (it's a bilge keel). I'm not the type of person to give up easy, so im looking at attempting repair. Ok, the trailer I don't hold much hope for, but the boat I'm hoping I can salvage as its a bit of a classic. I have no knowledge of boats, only bodywork on cars. Now the entire length of the innerside of the keel has came away, I assume some expoy, would be used here after all surfaces are clean. Then fibreglass sheeting left to right, then top to bottom and keep building up before a gel coat. There appears no damage to the hull. I've tried to get intouch with boat builders, surveyors etc, but have had no reply. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks 20240925_104233.jpg20240925_104112.jpg20240925_104230.jpg

Boathook

Visit site
Sorry to hear about this and welcome to the forum

Have a read of this thread, link below posted by a member here last year. The damage to your boat is very similar or seems so. Anything is repairable but it comes down to cost and time. Even doing the repairs yourself could be costly. The fact that you know about repairing cars means you have knowledge about the PPE needed / required for grinding fiberglass, etc.

Stupid - hit breakwater stones ...

Steve803

Visit site
Sorry to hear about this and welcome to the forum