Sloop or ketch, pros and cons

tsekul

Visit site

I'm fairly new to the sailing game.

What are the pros and cons of a ketch over a sloop type boat.

Is it just preferance. I would the guess that the upkeep of a ketch is more than a sloop as there is more of it to wear out and go wrong.

Opinions biased or otherwise appreciated :)

T

ffiill

Visit site
I have a 34 foot ketch which chose me so to speak.
I find it far easier to handle single handed.
Individual sail areas are smaller and main mast is a little lower.
If it gets too windy all I do is drop the main and sail on missen and genoa-I was happily going along at six knots recently in a 15 knot wind with of course hardly any heel.
Missen is also great in keeping boat in best position to wind/waves on a mooring and for motoring into the wind where set down tight it acts like a very big ruddero

jac

Visit site
Ketches are a little historic now

The original idea between ketches, yawls etc was to split the sail area into more manageable chunks. Go back 50- 75 years when the spars would have been wood, the sails canvas and no real winches and you couldn't have managed the sail area required to drive a larger boat, hence splitting it up.

With modern equipment and materials, there is no practical limit to the size of the sail so no need to split the sail area up.

Keeping one large foil with a sail either side of it is more aerodynamically efficient than the same area without between 2 foils so sloops will perform better to windward.

Ketches are great in reaching conditions, more ways to hang out bits of cloth, mizzen staysails etc, so in theory should outperform a sloop off wind.

Practically, ketches are more work to sail but have a really convenient basis for a jury rig if your main mast goes over the side, plus a great place for hanging radar, other aerials. Plus personally I think they look great!

snowleopard

Visit site