Should I do a radio check?

iangrant

Visit site
How many times should I do a radio check?
Once a season first time out
Every time I go out
once a month

Never sure.

Regards

Ian

ChrisJ

Visit site
I do one about twice a season on Channel 16.
Never at weekends (too busy).
But I also speak to marinas and locks at least every month.

Cheers, Chris

Mirelle

N/A
Visit site
No.

Do you let all your flares off and inflate your lifejackets and liferaft to check them? Your VHF is extremely reliable.

G

I am that sad person

I inflate each lifejacket about once every 4 years ie once then throw out and replace after 8 (mine are usually v. tatty by then). Someone else on this forum said that they had 6 and replaced one each year.

Regarding Mirelle's advice about not checking VHF, I reckon that you check them as often as makes you feel comfortable. Me? I don't check, I just use it for calling up marinas and friends. I'm no radio engineer but I don't imagine that there is anything to be gained from specifically using 16 or 67 for the test

Chris Enstone, Rival Spirit

G

Re: No.

I inflate my lifejacket to check that it has no holes in it. I intend to test the auto-inflate because being a sceptic I have difficulty in believing that that sort of thing really works. My crew and I also intend to fire off a couple of (white) flares in the near future for familiarisation. Next time my liferaft is serviced I intend to try inflating it.

Lots of New Year's resolutions.

As for radio checks, I use the radio and it seems to work OK, so wouldn't bother to radio check unless I had reason to believe something was wrong with it. But I guess that is lazy and illogical in view of all my other resolutions. But it is very boring in the Solent listening to all the radio checks. Last Saturday in the Solent the traffic was much more interesting. We turned the radio up and marvelled at all the excitement.

jollyjacktar

Visit site
Only if your radio is not working!