Shore Power v Campervan/caravan Kits

wooster

Visit site
Hello,

Since I retired a couple of years ago, I've been trying to learn all the maintenance stuff I used to get someone else to do when I had a bit more cash and less time. I have an ex-hire broads cruiser.

I'm currently looking at my electrics which have, to be polite, seen better days. Anyway, I was contemplating just starting from scratch and trying to make sense of the spaghetti mess along my bilges. The shore power is basic and doesn't meet my needs with only a couple of sockets badly placed. I am not an electrician so I thought I'd look to a kit which would be plug and play. I notice a lot of them for sale for campervans but few for boats. Is it possible to use a campervan one, maybe just taking some appropriate measure to waterproof it a bit more? Are the two interchangeable?

Alex_Blackwood

Visit site
Hello,

Since I retired a couple of years ago, I've been trying to learn all the maintenance stuff I used to get someone else to do when I had a bit more cash and less time. I have an ex-hire broads cruiser.

I'm currently looking at my electrics which have, to be polite, seen better days. Anyway, I was contemplating just starting from scratch and trying to make sense of the spaghetti mess along my bilges. The shore power is basic and doesn't meet my needs with only a couple of sockets badly placed. I am not an electrician so I thought I'd look to a kit which would be plug and play. I notice a lot of them for sale for campervans but few for boats. Is it possible to use a campervan one, maybe just taking some appropriate measure to waterproof it a bit more? Are the two interchangeable?
If you have similar to this:-
Find the best price on PriceCompare24.com
Then perfectly suitable. Has all the proper safety devices.

Alex_Blackwood

Visit site
Some campervan systems work on using the vehicle chassis as a common return, which isn't always easy to convert to a fibreglass hull.