Princess 32 - Failed Survey

iwalm1979

Visit site
Hi all,

We are new to boating, complete novices, and after looking at several boats we found a very tidy Princess 32 which seemed ideal for what we had in mind. The survey has come back with generally positive comments across the board about the condition, however, it has been given a 'serious' point of action on a suspected wet transom. This is being cored by the marina tomorrow I believe to see whether it is genuinely wet or not. Survey shows stringers and other structural elements in good condition.

The advice I'm looking for here is how would people proceed? If the boat is generally sound and this is the sole problem would people advise negotiating with the vendor to have this repaired or is it a walk-away job?

Does anyone have any experience of how significant a job this would be (it's on twin engines) and rough ideas of what a marina (UK, North England) would charge to strip out the old transom, replace and make good? We are not able to do the work ourselves but we've seen the videos on youtube, and it looks to more of a time/labour job rather than being expensive in terms of parts etc.

Thanks in advance!

Greg2

Visit site
Our first boat was a Princess 32 but I can’t recall whether the transom had a core or whether is was solid GRP. If it has a core and it is wet then I would think that it is fairly major structural work that needs to be done properly.

The way forward would be to get a quote from a good boatyard and then use this to negotiate a commensurate reduction in price but only if you really like and want the boat. I say this because even at a reduced price you take on the responsibility and potential grief and there will be other options out there but ultimately that will be your call.

Last edited:

Momac

Visit site
Hi all,