Negotiating a price

jon and michie

Visit site
Hi - In my endeavour to find a boat and having asked many questions (which will never end) 1 question I have to ask is

As I am totally new to the boating world and as a brit not so good on the bartering front - what would be a starting point for negotiating a price on a boat ? I know condition of the vessel etc would obviously play a part in this - but is there some degree of bartering that can be done ? - I am sure someone on here has said before that 20% lower than the asking price is a place to start - but I will point out I wouldn't want to offend/insult the seller/broker with my naivety either.

All opinions welcomed

jon

lionelz

Visit site
So many factors that effect this. If the boat is bang on the money there may be very little wiggle room, I would say look at the prices of comparable boats, and then take it from there. As long as you pay what you are happy to pay then all is good. I personally made an offer on my boat at about 33% under the original asking price and eventually got it for about 80% of the original price.

jon and michie

Visit site
Thanks lionelz - I totally understand where your coming from - I would also suspect what upgrades it might have would also factor in this i.e bow thruster etc etc.
from a buyer's point of view I would assume especially through a brokerage that cash would be king.
good to see that you did indeed get 20% off the price.

thanks again
jon

benjenbav

Visit site
Obviously easier to get in the right ballpark if it's a popular model. Even then it's a different sport from buying a mass-production item where the "right" price is easily established.

I think the most important factor is to end up paying a price you are happy to pay for the boat in question.

I've always enjoyed my boats on their merits and not for the keenness of the deal done to acquire them.