Mariner 2hp outboard relic & how to restore?

conks01

Visit site
Hi,

So the sailing club have decided to clear out the club garage, of which there are a number of former member's outboards going for almost free, to a good home. It's fair to say that most have seen better days!

In my stupidity, I've decided to pay £20 for a 2 stroke Mariner 2hp, the lightweight version.

The engine is seized, you cannot pull, it doesn't turn over.

I'm not a mechanic, and have a basic understanding of engines so, as a starter for ten, I'm wondering where I need to start?

Any advice would be appreciated to take me through what I need to do to fully restore this defunct outboard please. If Indiana Jones found it, he would be well impressed.

Thanks.

P.s Are there any Mariner 2M sites or groups out there who I could approach for advice and parts etc. ?

DownWest

Visit site
While at my US family's place on the Chesapeak, I was looking for something to do. There was an Evenrude light twin 4hp sitting in the boat shed. Not used for several years, as it gave nasty shocks if over tick over. It was seized, so I removed the cylinder head and put releasing oil in the bores. gentle tapping got the pistons moving and some fine sand paper cleaned up the rust. Tissues used to take out the residue from sanding. Looked around localy for a fresh head gasket, but no luck, so put it back with some sealer. Fired up after a few pulls, but the shock problem still there. Bit of thinking about the HT path made me think that the rotating ignition plate, that moved the contact breakers to advance the spark, was not well 'earthed' so I wired a jump cable from it to the crank casing and 'Bingo' no shocks. That was in '91
I actually still have the engine, but probably scrap now, as not used for several years.

Then, I was gifted a Yam 2a. Various tries at getting it going, with two previous owners,frustrated but I found that the HT lead was disconnected internally from the plug cap. So works fine now.