just another thing as im rather new to wooden boats.

manish

Visit site
are wooden boats the pain in the glutus maximus that most boat owners make them out to be??? its just that as i would be away for 3 months at a time i was think of letting the hull dry out for 3 months or is that too much??? thanks once again /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

Topcat47

Visit site
Why would you want it out of the water for three months at a time?

Wooden boats seem to work best when left in the water, the one moored next to my GRP craft only gets taken out for a scrub and polish (OK and a coat of antifoul and any underwater work needed). The longest it's been "out" is four weeks. in the past two years, (four days this month).

Mind you a lot of wooden dingys stay out all year when not being used....

Sixpence

Visit site
I'm finding that working on my wooden one is easier than the plastic one , and more enjoyable . But she needs to be back in the water sooner rather than later . Wooden boats dry out too much ( so I'm told ) so once treated and looked after they need to get wet again

Peterduck

Visit site
Well now, there's wooden boats, and there's other wooden boats, and they're mostly lovely. Carvel and clinker boats don't like being dried and wetted; it's much better to be one or the other. Plywood and cold moulded or strip-planked boats don't mind so much, as their water-tight integrity does no depend on the wood swelling.
Peter.

jezjez

Visit site
my boatyard - i'm on a swinging mooring - don't have insurance to allow me to stay in the water. That means 5 months out. Is that going to be a killer?

Casey

Visit site