I'm thinking of buying a yacht.

Courtnadge1

Visit site
I\'m thinking of buying a yacht.

I would like to buy a yacht, but due to financial restrictions I will only get one chance to get it right, I am thinking of a cruiser of about 20 foot length with 4/5 births (4 is good, 5 ideal), £5000 is my initial budget.

So my point is a) am I completly mad, b) is this a fair budget.

I have no experience on actually sailing a yacht, though I have been a passenger on many occasions, so I understand that I will need to do several courses before myself and my wife can sail into the big blue yonder.

So do you have any suggestions or advice.

yachtcharisma

Visit site
Re: I\'m thinking of buying a yacht.

You're not completely mad! 20' is a good length to start out with - still light enough that a good push will get you out of trouble if a manouvre starts to go wrong! - and £5000 seems a very reasonable budget for that sort of length boat. Corribees, my own boat, for example, tend to change hands for between 3 and £4000. A swinging mooring will probably cost you another £500 per year, insurance perhaps another £100, and maintainance need not be too much at all on that size of boat. Just think through how many extras you'll need to buy that aren't included in the sale. Lifejackets almost certainly won't for example, flares you'll need, is there a log, echosounder, VHF? Dinghy if you're using a swinging mooring? Much cheaper to make sure these are there to start with, or allow enough to buy them after.

Just two things I might mention. You suggest 4 berths good, 5 better. I think you'll have trouble finding a boat of this size with 5 berths at all, and I'd have severe doubts about the wisdom of trying to cram 5 people (adults, at least), into it. If you're doing much more than the odd overnight, I wouldn't really reckon on getting more than two people comfortably into a small four berth boat. Don't forget there's got to be somewhere for them to put their things...