Help! weather fax or Navtex??

G

Hope someone can help out there, I am planning an off shore trip & am currently kitting out my yacht(26').￾@I can't decide between a weather fax of a Navtex system, can anyone make a recommendation or point out the pro's/con's of each?

I will be sailing from the far east via S.E asia & the red sea to the UK.

cheers

zvidoron

Visit site
You will be sailing through some of the world's worst piracy infested waters. Forget Navtex, just install a couple of machine guns...

vyv_cox

coxeng.co.uk
I have no experience of the integral weather fax receivers, but I do know they are not cheap and of course do nothing else, unlike a laptop based system. About a year ago someone on this BB said they regretted buying theirs, but that's all I know.

I have purchased an Icom PCR1000 and loads of software and PCMCIA cards to receive weatherfaxes on a laptop. It has been notably unsuccessful and I have almost given up trying. The complete system has cost me more than 500 pounds, plus the laptop of course, not a good investment. If I was starting again I would be looking for a way to use Internet forecasts, the telephone medium then being dependent upon how far offshore you are going to be. Satellite phone systems for blue water are proliferating and the cost seems to be coming down all the time. Satcom amd Inmarsat seems to be available for between 2000 and 3000 pounds and Iridium will surely be making a cheaper return soon.

Contrast all that with a NASA Navtext Pro at about 250 pounds. You don't get a chart but anywhere in Europe you get a detailed forecast that enables you to construct your own. Can't speak for further afield but maybe others can help.

Twister_Ken

'ang on a mo, I'll just take some bearings
Visit site
Navtex range and duration

NAVTEX is approx 300 miles from transmitter. If you are going to be offshore Navtex will often be out of range, and fax would be better.