Electronic charts in Eastern Mediterranean

rjmcl

Visit site
I'm a newbie to electronic charts on PC or a cockpit tablet and still researching what to buy for my yacht.
We will only sail in the Mediterranean, mostly Greece / Turkey, but also across to Sicily / Sardinia.

I have been round YBW forums and other websites, but am still confused about what is best solution.

It appears that the most popular electronic charts available for eastern mediterranean region are Navionics or Imray.

Imray appears quite expensive, about £300 for all the areas I wish to sail, and the Navionics app gets poor reviews for endless pop-ups and pointless pictures overlaid on chart information.

The most recommended cheap programmes for yacht navigation seem to be OpenCPN or Marine Navigator. Unfortunately,I cannot find charts for these apps which cover central / eastern Mediterranean areas. I downloaded KAP files for Mediterranean from OpenSeaMap - only to find no depth information on the charts (RTFM!)

The yacht already has a Raymarine E80 with full mediterranean charts at the saloon nav station, and and a Standard Horizon GX2200E VHF providing AIS data. I cannot currently get AIS data from the VHF to show on the Raymarine plotter. Perhaps one day, maybe not with my technical ability.

I have just purchased a refurbished Dell laptop for the yacht, so a Windows based solution with wifi to cockpit tablet could be an option. However, I would prefer to use a standalone tablet with GPS in the cockpit as backup, and another layer of redundancy.

10" Android tablets with GPS are now very cheap and (in my view) reliable. I've never had an iPad. We also have an ever growing suite of paper charts, so will never be totally reliant on electrics

I would like a 1)User friendly, 2) raster format, 2) android tablet, 4) with AIS data overlay 3) cheap electronic chart solution.