Antifouling recommendation for Shotley

Max Campbell

Visit site
My plywood boat is copper-coated. That worked fine at Brightlingsea - a light covering of barnacles each year. At Shotley I'm getting some sort of tube worm and 2 to 3" of kelp looking weed. The lift operator says that's what he sees on copper coat, and that ordinary antifouling works well.

It looks like my below-waterline paintwork needs attention anyway - there are a few blisters forming in the primer - so if I'm going to have to patch below w/l, I may as well do the whole thing with "conventional" AF. I've no experience of AF, and am looking for recommendations relevant to Shotley.

Paulfireblade

Visit site
Hi,

I am based at Shotley and use a self eroding antifoul. Last year I used International Cruiser 250 which was okay and yard guy commented it was pretty clear for 12 months but last lift out in July I applied Hempel cruising performer which so far seems to be working quite well. Only 4 months but looking better than last time to me.

It does vary area to area and I should mention the Hempel seems to fling off the roller like candy floss if you are not careful (not just me, yard guy confirmed it and it was him that made the candy floss reference.)

My car was downwind unfortunately and had a few streaks of antifoul.

Good luck

Last edited:

rowlock

Visit site
These pictures are of fouling after 5 weeks afloat from first week August. 10 days at Mersea used every day then on a mooring at Wrabness and used 2 or more times a week. As an experiment the rudder is Copper Coat and the hull Micron350 applied in two coats, each the correct volume for area . Interestingly following this scrub early September both hull and rudder remained reasonably clean up to haul out this past week. Judging by the size of the enormous seal hauled out in a dory a week ago the rivers are teaming with life.

Attachments

• IMG_1661.jpeg
    IMG_1661.jpeg
    125.8 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_1664.jpeg
    IMG_1664.jpeg