Anchoring and leaving the boat

Ferrets

Visit site
I'm very new to sailing so apologies if I ask some daft questions to begin with! I'm planning to take the family sailing in Ibiza during the summer but have been warned that moorings are at a premium and may not be available at all. So we aim to anchor in some smaller sheltered bays.

I will have a tender with a small outboard but the question is... If we want to go and explore, maybe go to a restaurant, what do we do with the tender? Isn't it likely to be stolen if we leave it on the beach? Grateful of any advice!

Trident

Visit site
You will want to have a padlock and cable for a dinghy in most places in Ibiza . Do check where you plan to anchor though as almost all the Callas in Ibiza and the rest of the Balearics are closed to anchoring this season due to seagrass loss - they released new rules at the beginning of this year and all the best anchorages are now no go zones; Portinax, Benearas, Talamanca, Port Roig etc etc - its pretty much ruined cruising completely as there is almost nowhere left to go except over priced buoys or marinas. Make sure you research thoroughly where you can still go

Tim Good

Visit site
We have a long Cobra Canle by Abus which can loop through itself and extend quite far. We'd row ashore if close which make stashing the dingy much easier and no worrying about the outboard. If we do have the outboard to secure we'd lock it to the dingy and also via the long cable also.

An alarm padlock which sets off a siren when moved can also be an option.

Trident

Visit site