Quick Electronics help please

Dave100456

Visit site
Help please:
I'm looking for the right diode to stop a small solar panel draining the battery at night as I'm not using a regulator.

I'm no electronics expert but understand a Schottky diode is best but which one???? PV panel specs are max peak voltage is 22v and max peak current is 0.65A Any one know a suitable diode, and will an over spec diode ie 30v and 10 amp reduce my voltage more than a 30v 5 amp variant would?

Thanks

Dave

trbt

Visit site
will an over spec diode ie 30v and 10 amp reduce my voltage more than a 30v 5 amp variant would?
The other way round. But really you should look at the datasheets for forward voltage vs current graphs to find the one that has the least voltage for your target current.

William_H

Visit site
You can find a schotky diode of suitable rating in an old computer power supply or similar switch mode power supply. They are usually a square black plastic box about 1cm square or rectangle attached with a screw to an ali heat sink. May have 2 leads or 3 leads. Often built in a pair. Usually have a pair of diode symbols on the face.
However as said any schotky diode of ratings greater than the panel current will be OK.
Indeed an ordinary silicon diode will drop more voltage but in practice will not make much difference to overall amp hours in to battery. The difference will only at lowest light levels. You mightalso like to check the panel with a digital multimeter on amps scale to check for actual current flow backwards in darkness. Every time I have checked I can't measure any loss. Maybe a diode in the panel or it doesn't really matter. ol'will

Skylark

Visit site
Help please:
I'm looking for the right diode to stop a small solar panel draining the battery at night as I'm not using a regulator.