Why slopes are bad for anchoring

thinwater

sail-delmarva.blogspot.com
[This follows a post suggesting that the main effect of a slope is that it changes the rode angle at the bottom (see below image from that thread). Slope does change the rode angle and that does matter, but ... ]

img_8551-jpeg.183283

This is an interesting topic, and I'm starting a new thread for it. When I started sailing, as a new engineer, I understood the above calculation (thanks Nolex), found it obvious and reassuring. Most sailors do. But after years of engineering and sailing, I think it sometimes simulates the situation, but I'm going to have to offer my apology for this. I think it misses the real point entirely and is most often not the most important factor. The important affect of slope is its affect on soil strength and characteristics.

The important questions are:

• why the slope exists
  • the slope's affect on soil shear strength
I would really love for a real soil expert to weigh in. I have some experience related to engineering foundations from mountain (rock but also horrible moraine fields), to Peidmont (typically good strong clay), to the Mississippi delta (very soft--even the sand flows like water). Mud, clay, and sand can vary by multiples in strength, depending on micro structure, how they were laid down, and chemistry. The topic is way more complicated than anchors.

---

First, unless it is a severe slope (channel edge), the slope is typically quite small. Perhaps 3 feet in 200 feet, or 1.5%. At 5:1 scope this is less than 10% of the angle, and at 10: scope the chain is probably staying on the bottom (zero bottom angle) both ways. Not a zero effect, but minor.