What plastic for windows?

john_morris_uk

yachtserendipity.wordpress.com
My daughter needs to replace (she and her dad in reality) the windows in her Pandora 700. We’ve got the old ones off and she’s patiently cleaned up the frames. I’ve sourced some new trim to go on the raw GRP edge and I now need to order some clear Perspex. Except is it Perspex that I need? Or is Perspex the same as acrylic? There’s a slight curve to them so that rules out toughened glass (I’m not matching up curves and having bits of glass made specially and the. having them toughened for a boat that cost a few hundred £!)

The ones that have come off are cracked and scratched etc. I’ve no experience of this, so what’s the best material to replace them with?

Each side is about 120 x 45 cm’s.

Neeves

Visit site
Are you sure of those dimensions - the Pandora's I recall had long narrow windows (but my memory may be wrong).

I think you want acrylic.

I never studies the windows in the Pandora - did it come in a frame or were they simply 'glued' in?

Jonathan

prv

Visit site
Perspex is a brand of acrylic. Your choices are basically acrylic or polycarbonate.

My understanding is that polycarbonate is more susceptible to surface scratches (although my polycarbonate washboards have been thrown in and out of the cockpit locker for years now without obvious damage) and acrylic is more likely to actually break if hit hard enough. Personally I'd pick polycarbonate for windows, but loads have been done in acrylic over the decades and perhaps it doesn't really matter all that much.

Pete

john_morris_uk

Are you sure of those dimensions - the Pandora's I recall had long narrow windows (but my memory may be wrong).

I think you want acrylic.

I never studies the windows in the Pandora - did it come in a frame or were they simply 'glued' in?

Jonathan