Weather?

zefender

Visit site
As of this morning (Tuesday) , met office, marinecall and wetterzentrale (the latter seem to be suggesting that winds will bounce between SW6/7 and NW 4/5 during Friday and with moderate - roughish seas & drizzle.Wetterzentrale's maps lean towards the mildest of the forecasts.

On the basis of these, although its too early say whether we're definitely going, and I'm no weather expert, it seems more likely than not. We'll hold back until tomorrow's update. Any others got a view?

<hr width=100% size=1>

Nickel

Visit site
The BBC synoptic predictions seem to be converging with the met-office forecasts now - windier than they were showing yesterday, but not up to the F7/8 that the met were forecasting yesterday.

They show a cold front moving southwards during Friday morning which would probably give a bit more than drizzle. Looks like a fleece needed under the oilies.

<hr width=100% size=1>Nickel

Being paranoid simply means - having all the facts.

ChrisE

www.simpleisgood.com
Withdrawing

F r i d a y

Wind: Southwest force 6 or 7 veering Northwest force 4 or 5 then backing West or Southwest and increasing locally force 6 in Plymouth and Portland.
Weather: Rain or drizzle at times.

Visibility: Moderate or good, occasionally poor at first.

Sea State: Moderate or rough.

S a t u r d a y

West or Southwest winds, force 4 or 5 for most at first, increasing force 6 or 7, perhaps gale 8 in Wight and Dover, veering Northwest then decreasing force 4 or 5. rather cloudy with rain or drizzle at first, becoming clearer with showers. Moderate visibility becoming good.

Issued on 21st September 2004

I'm cancelling I'm afraid. A combination of a forecast that looks too iffy to call for the return trip and pressure on my better half's business. In another world, I'd probably go expecting to wait it out in Cherbourg but unfortunately both of us must be back on Monday and don't have any time to pick up boat at a later date.